India vs West Indies: Fan edits third umpire’s Wikipedia after controversial Rohit Sharma dismissal

first_imgAs the bat first or pad first question continues to prevail after Rohit Sharma fell to the controversial caught behind decision against West Indies in Manchester, an irked fan went a step ahead to express his frustration over the third umpire.It was in the 6th over of the game when a length ball from Keema Roach angled in and went between Rohit Sharma’s inside edge and the pad. There was a confident appeal from West Indies but the onfield umpire rejected it, following which Jason Holder went for a review.Third umpire Michael Gough was quick to rule it out. However, TV replays showed there was a spike on UltraEdge but it wasn’t clear whether it was due to the ball’s impact on the pad or bat.In case of tight calls, the third umpires generally take a long look at the visuals but Gough’s decision to rule it out helped raise quite a few eyebrows over the umpiring and technology.The decision also frustrated fans as someone was too quick to edit Michael Gough’s Wikipedia page to mention about the controversial dismissal.”In 2019, he was chosen to be the third umpire for the India vs. West Indies match. He is under fire for choosing to overturn the on-field umpiring decision of “not out” for Rohit Sharma without considering a replay of the ball and without conclusive evidence. It is of suspicion that he is biased for his host team, England, to reach the semi-finals as England had back-to-back humiliating defeats by Sri Lanka and Australia,” was added to Gough’s original Wikipedia page.advertisement Michael Gough’s decision to overturn on-field umpire Richard Illingworth’s decision and rule Rohit Sharma out, also sparked opinions from the cricket pundits.On-field commentator Sanjay Manjrekar pointed out that there could have been bat but the visuals didn’t prove anything conclusive.”I would have taken a little bit of time to be absolutely sure. The batsman didn’t think so. The bowler was absolutely confident. There was definitely pad involved but was there any bat at all?” Sanjay Manjrekar said during his commentary duties for Star Sports.Michael Atherton added: “West Indies bowlers were equally convinced, absolutely clear gap between bat and pad, the problem with the third umpire is that the ball passes the bat and pad almost simultaneously. The on-field decision is key there and you have to be absolutely convinced to overrule it.”Third umpire on rohit’s DRS#INDvsWI #WorldCup2019 pic.twitter.com/GylaL4yEx6Juhi Jain (@schizopuniac) June 27, 2019Ground umpire be like #INDvsWI #CWC19 pic.twitter.com/wsnbL6tJyHsweety (@piggy_chopps) June 27, 2019After the match today. #IndvsWI pic.twitter.com/ktKIpJXO11aaa (@being_kappaa) June 27, 2019This mistake from 3rd Umpair is not understandable. Is there any 100% Convincing evidence of edge.Poor umpairing..#INDvsWI pic.twitter.com/STZt8PJjwNShetty (@Shetty4507) June 27, 2019India, who are currently placed third on World Cup points table, are facing 8th placed West Indies in Manchester.Also Read | India vs West Indies, World Cup 2019: Rohit Sharma’s dismissal sparks off controversyAlso Read | Virat Kohli breaks Tendulkar and Lara record, fastest to 20,000 international runsAlso Seelast_img read more